Week 4 – Photo Sharing

I will be the first to admit that I am a horrible photographer.  That being said, I still love to post photos others have taken.  I have had a Flickr account for a long time, but never really get around to using it.  It seems I always default back to sharing my photos through Photoshop or Facebook.  From what I remember, I think you can pull pictures into Facebook with Flickr, but I have never really taken the time to do it.  We also have two Flickr accounts at work.  We use them mostly to share our Summer Reading Pictures.  It has worked pretty well for that, but some people are still a little nervous about the mechanics of posting on Flickr and having their pictures out there.  I have always had a tough time navigating on Flickr, too.  There are such fabulous pictures out there, though!! Especially related to the library world.

I have always been fascinated with library signage.  Every time I go into a library one of the first things I notice is the library’s signs.  About a week and a half ago I was in a library and noticed some signs I really liked.  I tweeted about how I thought the signs were so cool and one of my friends messaged me back to let me know there is a group on Flickr for library signage. If you are thinking of updating your signage at your library or getting some new signage I think this is a great place to start.

Here is a pic I took of one of the signs at Cimarron City Library.

cimarronpic

Remember my comment about being a horrible photographer?  This is just proof of that statement.  In my defense I was using my cell phone to take this picture.  hehe.  Thankfully most others on Flickr are much better with cameras than I am.

Here is another signage picture I found that I thought would be a great idea for a library sign.

15/365

I never thought of using a digital photo frame to share library events. What a great idea!  Picture taken by c_l_b on Flickr.

Library Sign - Gadgets - Blue

Photo posted by:  CCAC North Library on Flickr.  CCAC also has a Library Signage photo set, which this photo came from.  It was inspired by ipod advertising and used creative commons licensed images provided by others.

Liz Rea also created a WordPress blog to share Library Signage pics, it’s at: http://librarysigns.wordpress.com/

While I was on Flickr I found a really easy way to add photos to your blog.  It worked well in WordPress anyway.  Here’s what I did.  I used this instead of the blog this button since I already had my post set up.

1.  Clicked on Share This in the upper right hand corner while viewing a picture.
2.  Expanded the HTML section and then copied and pasted the code from the Grab the HTML.

I have always been confused about the “proper” way to site photos.  I have read numerous articles and tried to look at other blogs to see how others do it.  If someone has a great example to show me I would appreciate it.  I am still also confused about Creative Commons.  I guess I need to practice it more in real and work life to get the hang of it.  Hopefully reading other blog posts and reading over some more of the resources with the lesson will help.

2 Comments

Filed under Week 4

2 responses to “Week 4 – Photo Sharing

  1. Cindi Hickey

    Hi Janelle!

    I always learn something new when I follow you. Today I learned about snapshots. Can’t wait to try it out.

    Great blog – I hope you keep it up.

    One of the advantages to these social networking sites IMHO is the choices we have as users. Don’t have to use Flickr to share pix – can use Facebook, Twitter, etc., etc.

    You get to pick what you works for you!

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Cindi,

    Aren’t those fun? Thanks for the compliment. I would really like to keep up the blogging, I will just have to find something interesting to write about. My writing skills have suffered from all of my texting, facebooking, and tweeting. This would be a great way to brush up.

    It’s wonderful how we have all learned so much from each other with this project. It’s so much fun and such a great learning experience. All I want to do all day is blog, read others blogs, and do more 23 things. hehe. Too bad my other “work” keeps getting in the way. 😉

Leave a Reply

